Be Heard

Help Us Secure a Sustainable Future for Winter Backcountry Access


Public Action Remains the Most Vital Recourse for Change in Society

Help us tell land managers know what you think.

When writing a letter or making a call:

  • Be polite, courteous, and brief.
  • Focus on a specific and active backcountry access issue.
  • Review any facts you intend to cite to ensure their accuracy.
  • Share your personal experience as a visitor or resident of the Tahoe area.

 

TRPA

Joanne Marchetta
Executive Director – jmarchetta@trpa.org | (775) 589-5226

Kimberly Caringer
Environmental Improvement Division Manager – kcaringer@trpa.org | (775) 589-5263

Julie Regan
External Affairs Chief – jregan@trpa.org | (775) 589-5237

Tom Lotshaw
Public Information Officer – tlotshaw@trpa.org | (775) 589-5278

USFS

Jeff Marsolais
USFS Lake Tahoe Basin Management Unit Forest Supervisor – jmarsolais@fs.fed.us | (530) 543-2640

Lisa Herron
USFS Lake Tahoe Basin Mgmt Unit Public Affairs Specialist – laherron@fs.fed.us | (530) 543-2815

Cheva Gabor
USFS Nevada State Liaison, Intermountain Region – chevagabor@fs.fed.us | (530) 543-2608

District Supervisors

Sue Novasel
El Dorado County District 5 Supervisor – bosfive@edcgov.us | (530) 621-6577

Jennifer Montgomery
Placer County District 5 Supervisor – jmontgomery@placer.ca.gov | (530) 546-1935

Law Enforcement

Dan Paxton
Sergeant, California Highway Patrol – dpaxton@chp.ca.gov

John D’Agostini
Sheriff, El Dorado Country – (530) 621-5655

Michael Schwartz
Fire Chief, North Tahoe Fire – schwartz@ntfire.net

City Government

Wendy David
South Lake Tahoe Mayor – wdavid@cityofslt.us | (530) 208-7871

Morgan Goodwin
Truckee Mayor – mgoodwin@townoftruckee.com

California State Parks

Sierra District Office
info@parks.ca.gov | (530) 525-7232

Chambers of Commerce

Steve Teshara
Chief Executive Officer, Tahoe Chamber – steve@tahoechamber.org | (775) 588-1728 ext. 301

North Lake Tahoe Chamber of Commerce
(530) 581-6900 | info@gotahoenorth.com

Truckee Chamber of Commerce
(530) 587-2757 | info@truckee.com

CalTrans

Amarjeet Benipal
CalTrans District 3 Director (El Dorado & Placer Counties) – amarjeet.benipal@dot.ca.gov | (530) 741-4572

Tamie McGowen
CalTrans Assistant Director Public Affairs – tamie.mcgowen@dot.ca.gov | (916) 657-6050

Steven Nelson
CalTrans El Dorado, Tahoe, Placer Public Information Officer – steve.nelson@dot.ca.gov | (530) 741-4566

Liza Whitmore
CalTrans Placer, Nevada, Sierra Public Information Officer – liza.whitmore@dot.ca.gov | (530) 634-7640

Nevada DOT

Thor Dyson, P.E.
Nevada DOT, Reno District Head Engineer – (775) 834-8300

Rudy Malfabon
Nevada DOT Director – (775) 888-7440

The Voice Of Tahoe’s Human-Powered Winter Backcountry Community.